Check out our Directory of Traditional Building Skills

You are here: Home > About > Who We Are

Who We Are

Ulster Architectural Heritage is the trading name of the Ulster Architectural Heritage Society, (UAHS) a Charity and a Company Limited by Guarantee.

The members of the UAHS Main Committee are both Directors and Trustees, overseeing the work of the Society, including the work of its staff and volunteers. The work of the Society is further supported by a number of sub committees including: Architecture Planning & Policy, Events, Publications and Finance.

Our staff and committee is made up of experts in areas relating to the promotion, protection, conservation and regeneration of architectural heritage, with backgrounds in architecture, archaeology, law, business, literature and architectural history.


UAHS staff with a high level of experience and expertise in Architecture, Archaeology, Planning, Heritage and Management. Staff are here to help you help built heritage, and can be contacted via the UAHS office. Find out more about UAH Staff their background, qualifications and skills, below.

Officers of the Society:

President: Primrose Wilson CBE

Vice Presidents: Marcus Binney CBE   –  Dr Edward McParland  –  Prof Alastair Rowan.

Our Committee:

Many of our committee members are, or have been leads in heritage regeneration projects, as part of some of Northern Ireland’s most prolific Building Preservation Trusts. Others are experts in law, business, finance, marketing, public relations, architecture, archaeology and research into the historic environment. The level of expertise and energy represented by the members of the committee, their passion for Ulster’s built heritage is one of the main strengths of the Society. The main UAHS committee meets monthly.

Chairman: Dr David Johnston OBE

Vice Chairman:  John Anderson

Hon. Treasurer: Rosie Ford Hutchinson

Hon. Secretary: Alastair Rankin

Committee Members:

John Edmund

Marcus Patton OBE

Stephen Craig

Dr Murray Power

Dr Patricia Warke

Claire Foley

Geoffrey Brooks

Sub Committees:

Chairs of the sub committees also sit on the main committee, above. sub-committees quarterly, or as required.

Architecture, Planning & Policy. Chair: John Anderson

Events. Chair: Dr Murray Power

Finance. Chair: Rosie Ford-Hutchinson

Publications. Chair: Karen Latimer OBE



Support the conservation, restoration and re-use of Ulster's built heritage.

Become a member
Case Studies
Gilford Mill, Dunbar McMaster Gilford, Co.Down View Project
Top Click to access the login or register cheese