By Various Authors, 2010. Soft Back, 56pp, 50 photographs and illustrations.
12 in stock
Tollymore Park is one of the foremost eighteenth-century landscaped demesnes in the British Isles, and still lies within its original boundaries. Importantly, it contains the most extensive example of Thomas Wright designed, or Thomas Wright inspired architecture in the British Isles. Wright also designed a sporting lodge for Lord Limerick which was enlarged on several occasions, particularly in the Victorian Era following a serious fire. Unfortunately the house, which was sited on the present car park, was demolished in 1952 along with Wright’s central section that had remained more or less intact.
Like many Irish demesnes, Tollymore developed from the original deer parks and sporting estate created by Lord Limerick following his return from the Grand Tour in the early 1720s. His work was continued by his son, Lord Clanbrassill, who had been tutored by Thomas Wright when Lord Limerick brought Wright over from England to Dundalk where the family then lived. There were no children to continue the Clanbrassill line and Tollymore passed to Lord Clanbrassill’s sister who had married the first Earl of Roden. The Roden family made Tollymore their main residence until the beginning of the Second World War when it was sold to the Northern Irish government and subsequently became the first forest park in Northern Ireland.
This book gives a history of the main protagonists in the architectural life of Tollymore, Thomas Wright and Lord Limerick, and discusses the unique style of Wright’s Gothick architecture, with a look at the buildings of the Tollymore demesne.
|Dimensions||21 × 0.5 × 21 cm|