About the Awards

About the Awards

The Heritage Angel Awards aim to celebrate unsung heroes local heritage, celebrating the achievements of those who rescue, repair, record or research the historic built environment. Individuals, community groups, skilled craftsmen and apprentices, young people who care for our built heritage. The Awards are supported by the Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation. This year’s Awards are also supported by Derry & Strabane District Council.

This year we are delighted to add a category for large scale regeneration projects in excess of £2M and extend invitations to projects completed for up to 10 years, (previously 4). 

The Awards complement the existing Historic England Angel Awards, Scottish Heritage Angel Awards and the new Welsh Heritage Angel Awards.


The Awards have 5 categories, expand to find out more:

How to Enter

To apply or nominate please complete the Heritage Angel Awards Entry Form by midnight, Friday 1st June 2018.

Public Vote

All 15 shortlisted projects from the five categories will be open to this award voted solely by the public.

Overall Winner 2018

The 5 category winners from Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales will be invited to attend the Historic England Angel Awards in London in late November where the overall winner will be announced.The five winners from each country will be judged by Andrew Lloyd Webber and a judge from Northern Ireland, England, Scotland, and Wales. One of the 20 eligible projects will be crowned the overall winner.

Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions 2018

Award Criteria & Guidance

Award Criteria and Guidance.